FDC nominates nine for EALA slots


KAMPALA. At least nine out of the 21 Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party aspirants who have expressed interest for the East African Legislative Assembly (Eala) through their party were yesterday nominated as the party concluded the two-day process.
Mr Dan Mugarura, the FDC chief electoral commissioner, said the party expects to hold its primaries on February 17 ahead of the parliamentary election whose date is yet to be announced.

Members of FDC’s National Executive Committee (NEC) will select among the nine contestants who will represent the party during the parliamentary vote.
Previously, FDC which did not participate in the 2012 Eala elections was given two slots but the number of candidates the party is to send for the House vote will depend on the number of slots Parliament will allocate to the party.
Currently, the House is considering rules that will inform the Eala elections and will determine how many slots to allocate to the FDC party with majority opposition Members of Parliament.
On Tuesday, Mr Mugarura said the leadership of Parliament and the opposition have been meeting to agree on how to divide the EALA slots.
Mr Mugarura explained that the party was awaiting these guidelines.
FDC’s NEC currently has 69 members who will be eligible to vote.
Last week, lawmakers set rules for EALA and resolved to scrap party consensus in the election of the country’s representatives to the regional parliament.
The House chaired by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga also cleared special interest groups to contest for the nine slots allotted to Uganda. The amendment, legislators said, are consistent with the dictates of the Equal Opportunity Commission.

Members nominated include; Ms Ingrid Turinawe, Mr Augustine Ojobile, Ms Gloria Paga, Mr Patrick Baguma, Mr Wilberforce Kyambadde, Ms Florence Ekwau Ibi, Mr Innocent Ayo and Mr Hebert Mayemba. Mr Mugarura said 16 people had booked to be nominated but by deadline, only nine had made it.
Those who picked forms but did not return for nominations include; former Terego County legislator Kassiano Wadri, Muhammad Khalifan, Willy Mayambala, Bagenda Senfuka, Osinde Mopendi, Mukalazi Kibuuka, Stanley Ssempagama, Hassan Luzinda, Priscilla Kizito Nakkazi, Ishihaka Isaac Kabuye, Lawrence Jumba and Enos Kanyesigye
Ms Turinawe, also FDC’s chief mobiliser, said her election would signify a victory of the people.
“This is not for FDC only but it’s for the whole country and this will be a gift to defiance. If I am elected, I will stand for defiance, continue defiance and I know what it means,” Ms Turinawe said, adding that her victory will also be about “broadening the struggle” because they will no longer be fighting in Kampala or Uganda alone but they are taking this struggle across borders.

Related Stories

FDC vets EALA candidates as party waits for House rules


rn rn

You might also like

Leave a comment