Aruu candidates to block poll over voters register


Independent candidates in Aruu North County by-election have threatened to seek a court injunction over the alleged altering of the voters’ register by the Electoral Commission.

Early this month, seven candidates were nominated for the Aruu North parliamentary race.

Of the seven, five candidates are independents (Ms Lucy Aciro Otim, Mr David Ojera, Mr Henry Komakech Banya, Mr Francis Nyero Elton Lukale and Mr Justin Oryema Boswell) while two were nominated under political parties; Mr James Nabinson Kidega Nock (NRM) and Mr Benard Obina Ology [DP].

However, the independents argue that the voters’ register is not clean.

The register initially had 43,520 voters but the number has since risen to 48,495 four days after the display exercise.

One of the independent candidates, Ms Otim, said plans are underway to seek a court injunction so that the by -election is halted ‘if Electoral Commission keeps on altering the register.’

“We have agreed as independent candidates that if EC goes ahead to include the new voters on the old register, then we shall apply for a court injunction to block the poll until a clean register is produced,” Ms Aciro said.

Mr Francis Elton Lukale, another independent, accused the EC of adding 4,975 voters onto the register.

Pader District registrar Joseph Omona confirmed the concerns saying the 4,975 new voters were got from National Identification Registration Authority data as they were registered between the time of the last general election and to date.

“It is true that a total of 4,975 new voters have been added on the old register increasing the number from 43,520 to 48,495 voters,” he said.

rn rn

You might also like

Leave a comment