FULL LIST: Government shuffles CAOs, town clerks


Kampala. Government has in a major reshuffle transferred municipal and district accounting officers across the country, dropping some in a move sources say is to improve service delivery.
In some cases, some of the chief administrative officers (CAOs) and town clerks had stayed in one jurisdiction for a long time.
Saturday Monitor has seen a copy of the list of “appointment of local government accounting officers for FY2017/2018” list with names of 164 accounting officers. Of these, 41 are town clerks while the remaining 123 are CAOs.
The CAOs run administrative functions at the district while town clerks oversee administrative functions at municipalities.

New districts, including Namisindwa, Pakwach, Butebo, Rukiga, Kyotera and Bunyangabu, that will become effective on July 1, also have designated accounting officers.

New operational districts
Of the 23 districts approved by Parliament in 2015, only Kagadi, Kakumiro, Omoro and Rubanda, which became effective on July 1, 2016, are operational.
On July 1, 2018, Nabilatuk, Bugweri, Kasanda, Kwania, Kapelebyong and Kikuube will become effective, while Obongi, Kazo, Rwampara, Kitagwenda, Madi-Okollo, Karenga and Lusot will start to operate on July 1, 2019.
More than 50 chief administrative officers and town clerks were in March blacklisted pending satisfactory response to the Auditor General’s queries.

The Secretary to the Treasury and Ministry of Finance permanent secretary, Mr Keith Muhakanizi, has since in several correspondences to Parliament and other government officials, reminded accounting officers to submit full accountability as required by law or face the consequences.
Some were by the May 8 deadline yet to fully comply, but it was not clear from the list if they had been sacked or transferred.
When contacted about the move, Ministry of Local Government permanent secretary Ben Kumumanya, told Saturday Monitor to wait for the “official list”.
His counterpart in the Public Service ministry, Ms Catherine Bitarakwate Musingwiire, said the issue is the responsibility of the Local government ministry.

[email protected]

rn rn

You might also like

Leave a comment